Dipty Jain

Dipty Jain


Dr. Dipty Jain is Graduate of Government Medical College, Nagpur (India) and currently working as Professor and Head of Pediatrics and Faculty, Clinical Epidemiology Unit at Government Medical College, Nagpur.

She received Post Graduation in Pediatrics and awarded RocFellor Foundation Fellowship (1991) under which she has received Med. M.Sc. from McMaster University, Hamilton, Canada, with special course on Health Economics.

She is Organizing Chairperson for PHOCON (Pediatric- Hematology- Oncology Chapter) of India, and Faculty for Masters Course in Hemoglobinopathy with University College of London.

Dr. Dipty is Pioneer in implementing Sickle Cell Programmes in India like Neonatal Screening for Sickle Cell Disease, Hydroxyurea Trial and Prenatal Diagnosis of Hemoglobionopathies. She is Medical Director of Sickle Cell Programme in India.

She is In-charge of Sickle Cell Center in Central India for last 25 years which caters to more than 1000 homozygous patients from Central India. She has been instrumental in designing and implementing Neonatal Screening Programme for India. She is working with Indian Council of Medical Research as principal investigator and consultant for sickle cell disease program since 1993.

Dr. Dipty is passionate about Global Child Health and finding ways to facilitate collaboration focused on Savings Children’s Life. She is involved in various multi-centric, multinational studies.

Dr. Dipty is a Consultant for World Health Organization (UIP), USAID (Domestic Violence against women and children), ICMR-Indian Council of Medical Research and Government of India (Policy on Sickle Cell Disease)

INSPCAN-Indian Society for the Prevention of Child Abuse and Neglect was established and Dr. Jain assumed the position of “The President” for the organization.

During the year 2008-2009 Dr. Jain was elected as a President for Indian Academy of Pediatrics. She worked as a Faculty for Training of National Family Health Survey (NFHS) in 1998

Considering Outstanding Women of Twentieth Century she was awarded as “Women of the year” in the year 2002-2003 in USA.